Backstage at The Lowry: Irene Halliwell, Information & Stage Door Assistant

I joined The Lowry as a volunteer in 2005, then the Welcome Desk team in 2007 as an information assistant. Since 2012, I have also been part of the Stage Door team. I love every minute of all three roles!

As a volunteer, I am part of a team of nearly 300 from all walks of life who steward the theatres and sell programmes. Our job is to direct and assist all customers and to do it with a warm greeting and a smile. This is also a key part of my role as an information assistant. The questions we are asked here are so diverse! We also keep the foyer up to date with all the latest information about current and future events. Another part of my job here is to take the public on tours around our fantastic building. I feel like the Welcome Desk is a focal point for all staff and visitors.

Stage Door is where I come into contact with all the VIP’s, staff and theatre companies. Whether it be staff collecting post, people coming in and out of work, or cast members from current productions. Again, the questions I get are very diverse and I love the problem solving that each day brings. At school I sometimes got into trouble for talking, but now it’s a big part of my job!

I have had some wonderful experiences here at The Lowry, like presenting flowers to the Principal Ballerina of the Bolshoi Ballet, line dancing with Alex Ferguson in his dressing room. But the most moving moment for me was hearing Joey (the War Horse puppet) clip clop into the foyer on his first visit to promote the show. It brought a tear to my eyes! But the main reason I love The Lowry is the people. Everyone without exception will happily pass the time of day with each other. It is like being part of one big happy family!

Leave a Reply

Menu

Follow us on Twitter