Backstage at The Lowry: Warda Qadri, retail assistant

Warda

In search of work, I was told about a placement opportunity in the HR department of The Lowry as a recruitment assistant. I started my placement in April 2010, where I began to understand the importance of the HR function in a prominent arts and culture organisation, fulfilling all of my job roles by the help of my wonderful supervisors Rachel Saxon, Joanne Hulme and the HR manager, Siobhan Ogden.

During my position I was responsible for updating and circulating the internal vacancy bulletin as well as assisting in the advertising of all vacancies including The Lowry website and in the national and regional press as required. I managed the process of retrieving messages from the recruitment line and email and sending out application forms/recruitment packs as requested. Throughout, I organised interviews and arranged meetings and room bookings as well as recording recruitment activity using the HR database.

I was nominated to speak in front of the board of directors and the trustees for The Lowry in a meeting about the work I was carrying out within the HR department. During the six month period I advertised a total of 27 positions within The Lowry as well as organising a recruitment fair and sat on the interview panel in which 150 prospective candidates attended. I was selected to be part of a Future Job Fund film that I managed, co-ordinated and starred in. The film was made to encourage local employers to take part in the scheme and was shown externally and at Salford City Council meetings.

I then moved on to work in my current position as a retail assistant in The Lowry gift shop. Having enjoyed the experience of working behind the scenes to now interacting with our customers has added value to my understanding. Within my current position in The Lowry as a retail assistant, I deal with all customer enquiries efficiently. I am a strong believer of customer service allowing me to provide excellent standards of service and customer care at all times. My manager, Dorothy Sim, has been instrumental in making my time at work enjoyable as well as my colleagues who form part of a fantastic retail team.

Being a creative individual, it is inspiring to work in such an innovative space and interacting with people from all walks of life that are so passionate about art and the Lowry. The Lowry is a great place for all art enthusiasts, not only do I get to work with wonderful people and appreciate beautiful works of art, but I get to be part of an organisation which provides opportunities in giving new artists a chance to showcase their work. I am extremely proud to have my art work displayed in The Lowry Restaurant; this is an exciting and wonderful achievement as a young aspiring artist.

Warda art

 

Menu

Follow us on Twitter