Backstage at The Lowry: Emily Liddiard – Learning and Engagement Administrator

I started as the Learning and Engagement Administrator in November 2012 and it’s been non-stop fun since then! I grew up in Essex before moving to Paris to study my A Levels at a British School and then arrived in Manchester in 2005. I studied History of Art at Manchester Metropolitan University followed by a Postgraduate Diploma in Paper Conservation at The University of the Arts. Before I started my role here at The Lowry I had worked as an Administrator at Manchester University and Manchester Children’s Hospital since leaving University on 2009. I had visited The Lowry many times whilst studying in Manchester and had always hoped to work here one day.

Victoria Park 1My role is part of the Learning and Engagement team who are the department that work with communities, children and young people offering them opportunities of getting creative in the arts. My job is one of those great roles that gets to do a bit of everything with everyone. Within the Learning and Engagement team I do a lot of the general admin tasks, such as processing invoices, contracting artists and dealing with all the general enquiries internally and externally. Alongside that a key part of my role is coordinating all of our school workshops, this involved liaising with teachers and telling them what we have on offer. To do this I work with the fantastic groups booking team here at The Lowry as they process all of the bookings. We have created workshops for school groups based on a variety of themes including the children’s story The Queen’s Knickers, The Plague, First World War bunkers and many more. I have also had the pleasure of working with teachers on activities which take place within their school, recently I coordinated an exhibition with Victoria Park Junior School displaying all of the work which they had created during workshops here at The Lowry.

I am very lucky in that my role works closely with other departments in the building and one of those is in the coordination of the Copley Prize here at The Lowry which is a collaboration between the Development, Galleries and Learning and Engagement Teams. The Copley Prize is a competition for primary school children (we have just had our first annual winner, be sure to see his work on display in the galleries) one of my responsibilities is to phone the winners to tell them they have won! My role also sees me working with Visiting Companies to help with the coordination of any activities they would like to have whilst their production is here at The Lowry.

My role varies from day to day and my role requires me to get involved in what everyone in the team is doing whether it is watching a storytelling performance with the young parents from our Christmas Appeal project or doing a tour of the building with a group of young people working towards achieving their National Citizenship. It is always something different and that is what keeps my role really interesting.

E.Liddiard

Categories

Follow us on Twitter