Backstage at The Lowry: Nichola Jacques, digital communications executive, Quaytickets

If you’ve ever partied at Manchester Pride, mingled at Manchester Literature Festival or skated at Selfridges Ice Rink then the chances are you bought your ticket from Quaytickets. But did you know that Quaytickets is The Lowry’s Ticket Agency? And that we live up there in the tower? (Follow the arrow!)

Quaytickets Pic with arrow

Quaytickets’, my colleague Ged likes to think, you can see as far as Russia from up here; some days I think he might be right! From our privileged spot within The Lowry, the Quaytickets team manages The Lowry’s box office as well as working with up to 80 – incredibly diverse –  external clients across the North West and further afield.

Currently, Quaytickets provides ticketing services for the East Lancashire Railway, Winter Wonderland at Event City, the Martin Harris Centre, the Royal Exchange Theatre, the Bolton Octagon Theatre, the Imperial War Museum North, the Great Northern Playhouse, Stockport Plaza, Gracie Fields Theatre, the Hallé Orchestra and the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra (to name but a few!) We also recently began to provide ticketing services for the newly restored Elizabeth Gaskell House on the outskirts of Manchester. The home of one of the 19th Century’s most important writers is now fully open to the public thanks to a major £2.5m project funded by the Heritage Lottery Fund and others. And if you want to go inside, we can get you a ticket!

Elizabeth Gaskell House

(Above: Elizabeth Gaskell House)

Impressive though this list of clients may be, it makes my job quite tricky…

As digital communciations executive for Quaytickets, it’s my job to promote the events for which Quaytickets is selling tickets. I send emails to our huge database of contacts (123, 000+ subscribers at last count!) I wrote the Quaytickets social media strategy and I manage the Facebook and Twitter accounts. Given the diversity of our clients, my job involves tailoring our emails to suit different audiences and grouping together events of a similar type. I also look after our affiliates (that’s the websites and promoters who help us sell tickets: Ents 24, Pride of Manchester, Allgigs).

Although I work for Quaytickets, I sit within the Lowry’s Communications team under the lovely Trevor Evers. I’m very fortunate that The Lowry recently allowed me to pursue a 3-month contract at the Museum of Science and Industry working on the Manchester Science Festival. (One of the MSF events, ‘Transmissions’ actually took place at The Lowry: http://www.thelowry.com/event/transmissions). This was an incredible experience and I feel very privileged that The Lowry kept my position open for me whilst I was away. That’s the good thing about working here; The Lowry is keen to help you gain experience and broaden your horizons, even if that means disappearing from your desk for a few months…

So, if you’re attending an event in Manchester this festive season find out if it was Quaytickets who supplied your ticket, you might be surprised. And now you know we’re up in the tower, make sure you give us a wave!

Categories

Follow us on Twitter