Backstage at The Lowry: Matt Saint, Theatres Admin & Box Office Assistant

My first trip to The Lowry was in 2004 when I came to watch Journey’s End in the Lyric just before starting my GCSE in Drama as we were going to be studying it the following year. I remember being amazed by the modern style of the building and the size of space, the other theatres that I had been to previously having been much smaller. My whole class thought the show was fantastic and I continued to visit The Lowry to watch shows many times over the following years.

Fast forward a decade: I’ve finished school, completed a BA in Theatre Studies at Lancaster University, worked for the Students’ Union for a year and, madly, finished an MSc in Management and Marketing. I’d worked for a few arts organisations in marketing, duty management, front of house and box office over the years and had also produced a number of amateur performances in the North West and at the Edinburgh Fringe.

IMG_6070

When I saw the vacancy at The Lowry, I was keen to work at a venue that hosted such a wide range of theatre, music and art and had such a strong reputation. I started at The Lowry in June 2014 working full time as a dispatch and ticketing assistant, which largely involved printing all our tickets and posting them out on a daily basis! I would also work on the box office counter and phones to cover busy periods. I did this for eight months before going to Australia for what was planned as a few months but was unfortunately cut short. Thankfully, I was able to return to The Lowry in the box office on a casual basis, for which I was incredibly grateful!

Shortly after this, the position of Theatres Administrator became available in the Programming team and I jumped at the opportunity! Theatre programming was an area that I’d long been curious about and knew that this role would help me gain invaluable insight and experience.

Thankfully I was successful and now I provide administrative support to the Programming department in the form of drawing up the contracts for visiting production companies, booking accommodation and catering, looking after our “digs list” of accommodation for visiting artists and generally keeping everything in order! I also get to watch performances and feed an opinion back to the team. I really enjoy the role and hope to get even more involved in the future!

Menu

Follow us on Twitter