A little act of kindness with Sam Brady

Hi Everyone

I’m Sam Brady and I’ll be performing two shows in the studio at The Lowy on 3rd November – Kindness Double Bill.

The first show, Kindness, tells the true story of my failed efforts to become a kinder person, first as a Buddhist monk, then as a single parent.  For years I had been trying to figure out how to live a more meaningful life. I gave up my home, my possessions and a lucrative career as a management consultant to live in a Buddhist community. But after four years trying to transform my consciousness and transcend my ego, I found I hadn’t really changed at all. Then, one day, a little act of kindness made me realise that a moment of compassion could change another person’s life forever.

sam-brady-kindness-double-bill-web

So what was this ‘little act of kindness’? Well, you’ll have to come and see the show to find out.

Kindness has successfully toured the UK and Ireland and been to the Edinburgh Fringe three times. According to Observer Magazine you’ll “have a laugh and leave feeling a little bit happier about yourself”. It’s also been described several times as “hilarious”. And one reviewer said that I “reveal the truth of human nature” – but I think she got a bit carried away.

Here are some other generous quotes about the show:

“With this naturally funny and charismatic man, we heard hilarious (and some quite poignant) anecdotes that drove home his point that even though humans are flawed, the little acts of kindness really do make a difference… Emotional and uplifting.” Three Weeks Magazine

“Sam Brady’s life has taken many twists and turns… but somehow he manages to find humour in even the most challenging circumstances.” Matthew Bannister, BBC

The second show is a brand new one-man play that continues with the kindness theme, but this time it’s a fictional piece exploring the conflict between the ideals of masculinity and the ideals of kindness.

It’s currently a work-in-progress but I’m aiming for the same blend of humour and drama to give you a thoroughly thought-provoking and uplifting experience – fingers crossed! This audience will be the very first to experience it.

The development of the new play is supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England, so a big thanks to them, and huge appreciation for all the support and advice I’ve received from The Lowry on this project.

I hope you can come and join us on 3rd November.

Sam

Categories

Follow us on Twitter