Backstage at The Lowry: Chelsea Foster, Conference & Events Coordinator

Chelsea Foster

The first time I ever visited The Lowry was to see Wicked over two years ago. Back then, I had no idea what else the venue had in store – I thought it was simply a theatre. When I applied for my first position here as Casual Event Delivery Manager, my eyes were quickly opened to all the weird and wonderful things that go on in the building on a daily basis – from (of course) the theatre performances, to the various corporate events to all the brilliant workshops and programmes held for the local community through our Learning & Engagement department to the exciting press events we have in house and out on the Quays. From my very first day, I felt very welcome and looked after.

Having moved to the UK in 2013, I quickly became a fan of Manchester & Salford. Previously, I had worked in various capacities for music & arts festivals as well as tickets, so, although I was steering more toward corporate events when arriving at The Lowry, I was still in the creative environment which I was used to. There are always opportunities to get involved in the various on goings in the building as well as countless chances to see great shows and exhibitions. Also, my dear gran was born and raised not far from the Quays (what she calls ‘the docks’), so this was a brilliant opportunity to get to know and work in the community she grew up in!

After gaining immeasurable operational experience as a Casual Event Delivery Manager, I found more permanent roots in The Lowry after being offered a position as Conference & Events Coordinator. I have now been in this role for about a year and a half (coming up to 2 years total here!). I now look after our clients from their very first enquiry, though to the planning stages & finalising their event details. I also look after all of the admin that comes with that – issuing deposit and final invoices, sending out event sheets to our teams as well as any updated versions leading up the event date.

We get all sorts of types of events in house: Conferences, exhibitions, dance showcases, school proms, weddings, bar & bat mitzvahs, Christmas parties, anything you can really think of! I’ve met some incredible people and seen some very different events come through our spaces. One of my most recent favourites was the University of Salford’s Purple Reign Conference, which was an academic conference surrounding topics on the musician and artist, Prince, following his career, style & impact on the music community. Being a lover of music, I was particularly excited to help plan this one!

I am very excited to continue my experience in events here at The Lowry and cannot wait to see what we are greeted with next. One thing I can certainly say outside of having the support of a brilliant team, thanks to the many long and busy days, I think it’s safe to say, I can now make a mean brew (which is a lot of pressure of an American in the UK)!

Categories

Follow us on Twitter